Liked Hall and Oates since I was a kid, and really got into them about two years ago while living in Boulder. Started with their popular 80s albums, then discovered the brilliance of their 70s output, especially their least favorite album: 1974’s War Babies. Produced by Todd Rundgren, it also features him on guitar.

Speaking of guitar, the legendary Robert Fripp produced and played guitar on Daryl Hall’s first solo album, Sacred Songs (recorded in 1977 but not released until 1980). Knowing Hall’s extraordinary talent, Fripp seriously considered a King Crimson lineup with Hall on vocals!

I saw John Oates play a solo show at the Boulder Theater in April 2008. Though it was only acoustic, I was able to witness his talent, which I always considered to be secondary to Hall. One day I hope to see the duo live.

