Yesterday I hung out in my town with Chris and Edward, two fellow English teachers, before leaving for Seoul at 9:20 and not arriving until after 11, going to the Loft in Itaewon. Tons of new friends and drinking, great racial diversity, and Korean chicks desperate to get Western boyfriends. “You’re the most beautiful girl here,” may have been flattering, but it isn’t a working line. I signed up for pool so I could play the African goddess who was dominating the table.

She lost, as did I, to a guy who went by a Diamond symbol and had no clue how to play. Anyway, this Nigerian guy told me that she was interested in me and that I should go after her. I was intrigued—more like baffled. We chat and Salsa danced (she was an incredible dancer).

“Oh, I want to bite you.”

“Go ahead,” I said.

It got strange when we went back to the pool area. I put my hands around her waist, and she said, “Please don’t touch me,” with a smile that she didn’t mean it, just because her “trainer” was watching us. Then she sat on his lap and he wasn’t very nice. I used this time to walk around, compliment some Korean girls, both knowing no English. Then, getting ready to leave, I told this girl I liked her jacket, and she was so drunk she was almost asleep in her chair, and this guy gets in my face and says, “She has a boyfriend. He doesn’t like that!” So we left.

KFC for breakfast, the only place open. My body couldn’t handle the chicken/hash brown burger, and I threw it up. Outside, a Korean girl crossed the street with us and said, “I saw you in KFC, did you see me?” She was strange: her face kept having tics, sad, then happy and smiling, sad again, then smiling. She said she had been partying all night, and wanted to take us to The Old Town club. After standing and talking in the cold, we accompanied her past Hooker Hill to a bar above The Old Town, Friends. I told her I had a gun and legal immunity as Edward got the beers.

She was scared, explaining that no one in Korea could have guns, not even gangsters. I told her I killed gangsters. She said she wanted a Western friend, “only friends” to party with and that she liked Western men because of their faces and their whiteness. I was very serious, it being nearly dawn and the alcohol worn off, continually asking, “Why?”

She told us that she was thirty-four, unemployed and living with her mother in Incheon, coming to Itaewon every weekend to party, even if it was usually boring. I told her I’d be her friend so that she’d drink her beer, but she said she had been drinking all night, and I said she was lying.

When we left Friends she wanted to go the club, but we said we had had enough partying, Edward already descending the hill, leaving me alone with her. I ordered her to stay behind, telling her I lied when I said I’d be her friend. She was very upset, “But you said you’d be my Western friend. I won’t get to see you again?” I definitely didn’t break her, nor was that my intention, as she’d been broken before, and I have no remorse for how I treated her. How could we trust this girl, or even know what she wanted?

